LoneStarCon 2, the 1997 Worldcon

LoneStarCon 2, the 1997 Worldcon: Internet Information Center [email to LoneStarCon 2, the 1997 Worldcon]
[Guest Bios]
[Algis Budrys]
[Michael Moorcock]
[Don Maitz]
[Roy Tackett]
[Neal Barrett, Jr.]
[Program Participants]
The Second Occasional LoneStarCon Science Fiction Convention and Chili Cook-off, Variously known as the 55th World Science Fiction Convention and LoneStarCon 2, the 1997 Worldcon, To be held from August 28th through September 1st, in the year 1997, in San Antonio, Texas.

LoneStarCon 2, the 1997 Worldcon: Guest Biographies

Our Guests...

Guest of Honor Algis Budrys (aka A.J.) is a genuine triple-threat: a renowned SF writer, critic and editor. His best-known novels include Rogue Moon, Michaelmas, Who? and Falling Torch. In the mid-1960s, he began doing regular book reviews, many of which appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction. During the 1980s and early 1990s, he was involved with the Writers of the Future project, a contest that introduced such writers as Karen Joy Fowler, Robert Reed and David Zindell to the field. He has also served as an administrator for the Philip K. Dick Award, and now edits Tomorrow SF magazine. More information is available about Algis Budrys.
Guest of Honor Michael Moorcock is well-known for his heroic fantasy series, such as Elric of Melnibone', Warrior of Mars, and Hawkmoon, which featured the recurring character of the Eternal Champion. He also edited New Worlds magazine for many years, during which time he brought many "New Wave" writers -- including the likes of J.G. Ballard, Samuel R. Delany, Thomas M. Disch, John T. Sladek, and Norman Spinrad -- to the public spotlight. He won the Best Novella Nebula award in 1967 for "Behold the Man," and the 1979 John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Gloriana. More information is available about Michael Moorcock.
Artist Guest of Honor Don Maitz has won three Hugo Awards and eight Chesley Awards for his artwork. The admiration of his peers has only increased, after some 400 published works, one of which, The Second Drowning, cover for the novel, The Road to Corlay, won a silver medal at the Society of Illustrator's annual exhibition in 1980. That same year, Don received the Howard Award for Best Artist at the World Fantasy Convention. In addition to doing covers for leading novelists such as Piers Anthony, Asimov, Ray Bradbury, C.J. Cherryh, Raymond E. Feist, Stephen King, Michael Moorcock, and Gene Wolf, Don's magic with the paintbrush produced the pirate image which launched Captain Morgan Spiced Rum into success in a marketplace where new products fail more often than not. Now, Don's envious peers can't even seek escape in the bars. More information is available about Don Maitz.
Fan Guest of Honor Roy Tackett is a member of First Fandom. He single-handedly founded Albuquerque fandom, and is generally regarded as the Godfather of the extensive New Mexico SF community. More than all that, he's also the person responsible for unleashing Robert Vardeman onto the SF community. A contributor to FAPA [Fantasy Amateur Press Association], the world's oldest APA, he also pubs Dynatron. More information is available about Roy Tackett.
Toastmaster Neal Barrett, Jr. began publishing SF in the late 1950s, but his work is not easy to categorize, as it spans the spectrum from SF, historical novels, magical realism, and westerns, all the way to "gonzo" semi-mainstream fiction. Regardless of the genre, his work is generally darkly humorous and intensely human. In the late 1980s, he published Through Darkest America and its sequel, Dawn's Uncertain Light, which brought him considerable attention. His most recent books include The Hereafter Gang, Pink Vodka Blues and Dead Dog Blues. More information is available about Neal Barrett, Jr.

[ ,,^..^,, Lynx Friendly Logo ] [Web Disabilities Access Symbol]
[Earl Cooley III]
Comments to maintainer: alamowebmaster@cam-info.net. Original web page design by Earl Cooley III. This publication ©1997 by LoneStarCon 2, a service mark of Austin Literary Arts Maintenance Organization (ALAMO), Inc., a 501(c)(3) non-profit literary, educational corporation. All rights reserved, except as otherwise noted. This page <URL:http://www.alamo-sf.org/97worldcon; last changed 01/02/04 01:20:56.
Designed by a member of
The HTML Writers Guild